A quote from a mensan

I was encouraged to read the following sentence this morning:

As I have pointed out many times before, those who are capable of intellectually defending their position will do so calmly. Those who can’t always try to shut down the conversation one way or another.

The man who wrote this is experienced in the kinds of fights I wrote about in my first post and a mensan, so I’m fairly confident that in general he’s right.

I’m encouraged because I experienced this recently when I happened to receive a dressing down in an online forum by one of its owners. The owner then locked the thread before I could defend myself. Later he agreed to unlock it so I posted my defence, but he responded by attacking me again and re-locking it without addressing any of my arguments. This was frustrating, but I feel better knowing that a man like Vox Day shares my view of situations such as these.

One thought on “A quote from a mensan

Leave a reply

